Chapter 6: Friends

29 Nov

In this episode of Girl & Twilight, Bella acts like a fairly normal human being and realizes how stupid she was to be such a zombie for so long. Smeyer ruins any joy this might have given me with a huge dose of sexism and general misogyny.

Bella and Jacob hang out all the time now, which makes Bella a happy and normal person. She laughs now (and is always surprised by her own laughing). She isn’t having nightmares anymore. She doesn’t think about Edward constantly. In fact, I think he was only brought up once in this entire chapter, and it was so Bella could say that thinking of him doesn’t upset her anymore.

Right now, I’m really enjoying this, the interaction between Bella and Jacob. It’s so real. I want them to be happy together. I wish I didn’t know that this feeling will be ruined soon, because there are honestly a few times in the past few chapters that I feel Smeyer isn’t completely irredeemable.

The biggest issue I’m having with this chapter is Smeyer’s showcase of sexism. I seriously don’t understand this. Smeyer is a woman. How can she have such a negative attitude towards her own gender? Why does she portray every single female character as a poster child for awful female stereotypes? Has she been at the Rush Limbaugh?

One day when Bella is helping Jacob work on their new bikes, two of Jacob’s bizarrely-named friends stop by.

Both boys stopped short when they saw me. The thin boy glanced swiftly back and forth between Jacob and me, while the scrawny boy kept his eyes on me, a slow smile spreading across his face. (pg.139)

Men reacting to a woman as though she exists for sex and sex alone… check!

Many of the words they used were unfamiliar to me, and I figured I’d have to have a Y chromosome to really understand the excitement.(pg.139)

The notion that women don’t know anything about “man things” like cars… check!

A little while later, Bella gets up to leave, saying she has to go make supper for Charlie. What I mean to say is she needs to get away from these men and their complicated man toys and back into the kitchen where women belong.

It’s not just Bella, either. The incidental females in this chapter are worse. I am seriously having a hard time believing  a woman wrote these characters, because it truly seems like they were created by some terrible, misogynistic man.

Charlie and Bella have supper at the Black’s at one point with another family, the Clearwaters. The Clearwater daughter is described as always talking on the phone, even at the supper table. The Clearwater wife’s only comments are about dieting.

Because that’s all women do. Talk on the phone, make food for men, and worry about their waistlines.

At school, things are finally realistic. Bella notices that no one is paying attention to her anymore, that her friends are sick of her shit and they not talking to her anymore, that she has no idea what is going on. She only just now notices that her friends have changed their hair. Everyone is floored when Bella actually opens her mouth to speak. Bella is finally angry at herself for being so non-existant last semester.

At the end of the chapter, though, Bella’s girl friends start talking to her again and it seems like they are concerned for her and that things might be okay between them. Truly, Bella’s friends are otherworldly saints.

Not much happens in this chapter besides sexism and Bella coming alive (I guess those sound like things happening, but it’s not very interesting). I did learn, however, that Bella’s first day in Forks was on my birthday. Great.

Short blog is short, so here is a groovy kitteh.

4 Responses to “Chapter 6: Friends”

  1. arallyn November 29, 2010 at 3:47 pm #

    Who the fuck are the Clearwaters? And why do they matter? Fuck the Clearwaters. Irrelevant characters MOVE OUT!

    • Amy-jean November 29, 2010 at 3:51 pm #

      Actually, why was the dinner scene included at all?
      We will never know.

      • arallyn November 29, 2010 at 4:26 pm #

        I love superfluous scenes. Sometimes I add those to papers when I can’t be arsed to actually write a real assignment.

  2. Arleen Ditta December 12, 2010 at 2:45 am #

    What i find difficult is to find a blog that can capture me for a minute but you definitely add value. Bravo.

Leave a Reply

